As you may have noticed, Chantress and I are gallivanting all over the internet this month. Here are a few highlights:

*Today I’m talking about Putting Your Internal Editor to Work over at Janice Hardy’s wonderful writing blog, The Other Side of the Story.

* On the Enchanted Inkpot last week, the delightful Deva Fagan asked me some terrific questions about the music, magic, and science in Chantress, and the process of crafting an original fantasy world.

* I’ve also talked to some lovely teen bloggers this week. Nobonita of Daydreaming Bookworm asked me to write a post about the intriguing world of real-life Restoration London, and how it inspired the setting of Chantress. And Annabelle Marie of Sparkles and Lightning asked me to give tips on creating a character.

* These last two posts are part of the Chantress blog tour bonanza organized by the amazing Shane Morgan of Itching for Books. The tour includes an international giveaway of a signed copy of Chantress, which runs through this weekend. Thank you so much to all the bloggers who’ve participated, and to everyone who’s entered!

Besides gadding about on the internet, I’ll be doing some real-life travel, too. I’m thrilled to be attending WisCon this year from May 24-27th. Here’s my reading/speaking schedule:

Friday, May 24th, 4:00-5.15pm ENCHANTING THE PAST (with Ellen Kushner, Pan Morigan, and Caroline Stevermer and me)

London in the 1660s . . . . New York City in 1902 . . . An alternative America in the 1960s . . . . Painstakingly researched historical fiction, with a twist of Magic thrown in to make it even more–real? believable? Or just desirable? The double art of a historical fantasist is to make the magical as concrete as the real, and the past as real as today. Think we can do it? Come and see!

Saturday, May 25th, 10:00-11:15 am, WOMEN IN POWER IN FICTION AND HISTORY (with Rebecca Maines, Dr. Janice M. Bogstad, Valerie L. Guyant, Philip Kaveny, and me)

How have women fared, historically and fictionally, in positions of power? What speculative fiction works address this well? How have women in power in the real world addressed challenges? How does the behavior of men and men in positions of power compare, in both fiction and the real world?

Saturday, May 25th, 2:30-3:45 pm, IT’S ACTUALLY QUITE HARD TO RIP A BODICE, PART 2: HISTORICAL ACCURACY IN FICTION (with Mary Robinette Kowal, Vylar Kaftan, Delia Sherman, Jo Walton, and me)

Continuing the discussion from WisCon 36, the panelists will offer more advanced techniques for conducting historical research, ensuring accuracy, and how to handle situations with problematic historical attitudes to race, class, and gender.

I’ll also be at the WisCon Sign-Out on Monday.

On Tuesday, May 28th, I’ll be appearing at Simon & Schuster’s BEA Blogger Preview Party with Susanne Young, Cat Patrick, Corey Haydu, Lauren DeStefano, and Jason Reynolds. I wish I could invite everyone who’d like to go, but S&S is in charge of the invitation list. If you’re there, please come and say hello – I’d love to meet you!

