It’s been a long week here in the Greenfield household, one that included a horrific bout of food poisoning and a round of stomach flu. If my amazing mum-in-law hadn’t come to our rescue I think we would’ve gone under.

But as it is, we’re still here, and as of today life is looking much better. Not only do we still have a couple of days left of the half-term holiday (schools in the UK close for a week in late October — wonderful idea!), but Halloween is almost here.

The last time I lived in the UK, back in the 1990s, the only people I knew who made a real fuss over Halloween were expatriate Americans. For Britons, the big night came a few days later, on Bonfire Night, November 5th.

With that in mind, I didn’t expect much in the way of Halloween celebrations when we moved here. Which made me sad, since it’s one of Sweetpea’s favorite holidays.

And then I saw this display at our little local grocery store:

Pumpkins! Bats! Weird eyeballs and skulls! Looks like Halloween to me.

But what really made me smile were these very British treats:

That last box came home with me. (Fiendish Fancies! How could I resist?)

Best of all, our new neighbors say there will be a bit of trick-or-treating on Halloween night. I’ve laid in a small stock of Cadbury treats, I’ve got a pumpkin outside my door, and I’m getting Sweetpea’s costume ready to go. It’s a happy time.

What Halloween treats are you really looking forward to this year?

