(1) I’m so happy that I can be part of jonowrimo even though I’ve moved to the UK. Can’t wait till September 16th!

(2) But on the 16th, I also have to attend an interview to get my National Insurance card (think Social Security). More bureaucracy — arrggh! But at least the reason for it is good: I’ve received some unexpected royalties on the French edition of A Perfect Red. Which means I now count as officially “at work” in the UK.

(3) It’s been a good week for visiting with old friends (including ones who bring homegrown zucchini with them). And for making new ones (including ones who like chocolate truffle cake).

(4) I’ve signed up for the SCBWI British Isles Annual Conference in November. I was very sad to miss the New England conference in the spring, but I’m looking forward to meeting British SCBWI members in Winchester.

(5) I have another great book to share with you: A Most Improper Magick by Stephanie Burgis.

A Most Improper Magick is a first novel, but I never would have guessed that if I hadn’t been following stephanieburgis’s delightful blog here on LJ. What a wonderful debut! Her magical take on the Regency world of Heyer and Austen is a rollicking read from the get-go, as our heroine and narrator Kat Stephenson sets out to save her family from ruin. The story only gets more lively from there, but every twist is perfectly timed, with secrets and spells galore, and the bond between Kat and her sisters is a treat to see. The ending ties everything together beautifully, and is uproarious fun to boot.

The book came out this summer in the UK, which where I bought it, but it will be coming to the US as Kat, Incorrigible in April 2011. The best news of all? There are two more books about Kat to follow!

